Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Eagle Resources

How do I find an Eagle Project?

That’s one of the first questions a Life Scout has when he first starts thinking about becoming an Eagle Scout. The first thing to consider are the types of activities you and your family enjoy. Do you have a favorite park? Is there an organization you and your family already help regularly? Maybe someone in your family benefitted from an organization or group and you want to return the favor in some way. Do you have a desire to give back to your church or your school?

Once you have identified a potential organization or recreational area, contact them and ask if they need anything. Many municipalities, parks & recs departments, state parks, and non-profit organizations maintain “wish lists” of projects they would love for someone to offer to complete for them.

Or maybe you have a project in mind, but you need to find a beneficiary. Consider the same questions above, (places and activities you frequent, your church, your school) and see if you think any of those could benefit from what you have in mind. Contact one or more until you can find a match.

The last thing to keep in mind when searching for a suitable project is to make sure it is something that you can feel passionate about. You will be spending lots of hours researching, planning, and leading this project. Make sure it is one that you can feel excited about, and not just another chore.


If you are still stumped, there are plenty of resources on the web with lots of ideas. For example, here’s a list of about 100 ideas from meritbadge.org that can be developed into Eagle Projects.

Sample Projects

Or check out this website. Answer a few simple questions, and it will generate a list of potential project ideas.

My Project Finder

* MyProjectFinder.com was developed as part of David Harkins’ Wood Badge Project (SR-1016).

 


Remember to be professional when contacting someone about your potential Eagle Project

 

When reaching out to someone or an organization you want to make sure you present yourself well. Use all of the good communication skills you have learned through school and scouting. Be Clear and Concise. Make sure they know who you are, what organization you are contacting them from (Troop 511), where we are in Wake Forest (St. Catherine’s of Siena). Be sure you tell them why you are reaching out and what you hope to accomplish. This isn’t a form letter that you are sending out to everyone in the information below, it should go to the organization that you have identified to try and help. Be sure to leave your contact information at the bottom of the email, and thank them for their time.

 

 

Starting your search:

 

Below are some places that are always in need of assistance and have a growing list of projects that are always on their “To Do” list.

 

Local Historical Societies

Name

Description of Organization

Contact Information

Capital Area Preservation, Inc. (CAP)

Works to secure a place for historic resources in Wake County’s future through programs of protection, promotion, and education.

http://capitalareapreservation.com/

Phone: 919-833-6404

Email: info@cappresinc.org

Caswell County Historical Association

Maintains a list of old cemeteries in need of cleaning & restoration.

Mrs. Karen Oestreicher

karen@ncccha.org

336-514-6575

 

US Army Corps of Engineers

The US Army Corps of Engineers is responsible for maintaining dams, inland waterway channels, the Great Lakes and inland harbors. They restore create enhance or preserve thousands of acres of wetlands annually. Research and develop technologies to protect our nation’s environment and enhance the quality of life.

Visitor Center by Falls Dam

11405 Falls of
the Neuse Road, Wake Forest, NC

919-846-9332 x232

 

Municipalities

City/Town

Department

Contact Information

Wake Forest

Department of
Urban Forestry

Jennifer Rall

jrall@wakeforestnc.gov

919-435-9565

Public Art Commission

Debra Horton

dhorton@wakeforestnc.gov

919-435-9566

Raleigh

Planning, Land
Use, and Zoning

919-856-6310

http://www.wakegov.com/planning/Pages/default.aspx

Soil and Water Conservation District

919-250-1050

http://www.wakegov.com/water/Pages/default.aspx

Youngsville

Maintenance Supervisor

Sheldon Patterson

Maintenance Supervisor

spatterson@townofyoungsville.org

 

Parks & Recreation Departments

Parks and Recreation departments maintain all of the greenways, public parks, walkways, etc., that are open to the public in the towns and cities they serve. Each one always has a growing list of improvements that they need done in order to keep them in the best condition possible. Below are some local contacts that may help you in your search.

Wake County

City/Town

Contact Information

Wake Forest

Josh Glover

Park Maintenance Superintendent

jglover@wakeforestnc.gov
919-554-6184

Michelle Michael

Senior Planner

Historic Preservation Commission

mmichael@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9516

Greenways – Maintenance

Parks & Rec Dept

greenways@wakeforestnc.gov

919-554-6184

Greenways – Construction & Improvement

Brendie Vega

Assistant Director of Community Development

Planning Department

bvega@wakeforestnc.gov
919-435-9536

 

greenways@wakeforestnc.gov

919-435-9510

Rolesville

JG Ferguson

Parks and Recreation Diretor

Jg.ferguson@rolesville.nc.gov

919.554.6582

Raleigh

Diane Sauer

Parks, Recreation and Cultural Resources Director

Diane.b.Sauer@raleighnc.gov

919-996-3285

https://www.raleighnc.gov/parks

prcontact@raleighnc.gov

Blue Jay Point Park and the North Wake Landfill Park – Over the years, many Eagle Scout candidates have chosen to complete their Eagle Scout Service Project at Blue Jay Point County Park. Occasionally, the park staff has specific projects that would satisfy the requirements. Scouts are encouraged to submit their own ideas.

To find out more information regarding Eagle Scout
opportunities, prospective Eagle Scouts should contact:
Adam Wood
919-870-4322
Adam.Wood@wakegov.com

Youngsville

Mike Nash

Parks & Recreation Director

director@youngsvilleparksandrec.com

(919) 554-1837

 

State Parks

All NC State Parks have a Volunteer Coordinator. If there is a particular park you wish to complete a project for, contact that park. This can be accomplished by:

  • Phoning their main number, and asking to be connected to the Volunteer Coordinator
  • Sending an email to the general park email.

Another option is to contact the Regional Education Specialist, Brian Bockhahn. He maintains master lists and plans for all manner of wildlife or construction projects, and occasionally works directly with the individual Parks’ volunteer coordinators.

Brian Bockhahn
Regional Education Specialist
North District Office
North Carolina State Parks
12700 Bayleaf Church Rd Raleigh, NC 27614
(919) 841-4060
www.ncparks.gov
Brian.Bockhahn@ncparks.gov

Below is a listing of a few state parks in order to get you started.

Falls Lake State
Recreation Area

13304 Creedmoor Rd

Wake Forest, NC 27587

Phone 919-676-1027

falls.lake@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/falls-lake-state-recreation-area

William B. Umstead
State Park

8801 Glenwood Avenue

Raleigh, NC 27617

Phone 919-571-4170

william.umstead@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/william-b-umstead-state-park

Jordan Lake State
Recreation Area

280 State Park Road

Apex, North Carolina 27523

Phone 919-362-0586

jordan.lake@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/jordan-lake-state-recreation-area

Eno River State Park

6101 Cole Mill Road

Durham, NC 27705

Phone 919-383-1686

eno.river@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/eno-river-state-park

Occoneechee Mountain
State Natural Area

625 Virginia Cates Road

Hillsborough, NC 27278

Phone 919-383-1686

eno.river@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/occoneechee-mountain-state-natural-area

Kerr Lake State
Recreation Area

6254 Satterwhite Point Road

Henderson, NC 27537

Phone 252-438-7791

kerr.lake@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/kerr-lake-state-recreation-area

Raven Rock State Park

3009 Raven Rock Road

Lillington, NC 27546

Phone 910-893-4888

raven.rock@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/raven-rock-state-park

Haw River State Park
Iron Ore Belt

6068 N. Church Street

Greensboro, NC 27455

336.342.6163

haw.river@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/haw-river-state-park-iron-ore-belt

Medoc Mountain State
Park

1541 Medoc State Park Road

Hollister, NC 27844

Phone252-586-6588

medoc.mountain@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/medoc-mountain-state-park

Hanging Rock State
Park

1790 Hanging Rock Park Road

Danbury, NC 27016

Phone336-593-8480

hanging.rock@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/hanging-rock-state-park

 

Cliffs of the Neuse
State Park

240 Park Entrance Road

Seven Springs, NC 28578

Phone919-778-6234

cliffs.neuse@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/cliffs-of-the-neuse-state-park

 

Morrow Mountain State
Park

49104 Morrow Mountain Road

Albemarle, NC 28001

Phone704-982-4402

morrow.mountain@ncparks.gov

https://www.ncparks.gov/morrow-mountain-state-park

 

 

© 2019 Troop 511 - Boy Scouts of America | WordPress Admin