Skip to content. Skip to main navigation.

Eagle Scout Letters of Commendation/Congratulations

You’ve often heard of Scouts receiving letters from the President of the United states, or even from TV  host Mike Rowe, congratulating them on achieving the rank of Eagle. This doesn’t happen automatically; the family is often the one to request such letters.

Remember when sending a request for a letter of commendation, be sure to include;

  • the Scout’s full name
  • the Troop number & Council name
  • a brief description of the Eagle Project, as well as some of the Eagle Scout’s other accomplishments
  • a self-addressed, stamped envelope for the individual or organization to send the letter.

Below is a list of people and organizations from whom Letters of Commendation are often requested. It isn’t a contest to see who can collect the most letters. It’s probably best to just pick a few, those who would be most appreciated by your Eagle Scout.

President of the United States

 President and Mrs. Donald J. Trump
The White House
Attn:Greeting Office
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20500

it is best to send the request to the President via the official White House

Vice President of the United States

 Vice President and Mrs. Mike Pence

Old Executive Office Building
Washington, DC 20501



Former Presidents of the United States 

President Barack & Michelle Obama


To request a congratulatory letter from Barack and Michelle Obama,
fill out the request form on their website:

President George W. Bush

Office of George W. Bush
P.O. Box 259000

Dallas, TX 75225-9000


President William Clinton
Correspondence Director
Office of William Jefferson Clinton
55 West 125th Street
New York, NY 10027

President George H. W. Bush
1000 George Bush Drive West
College Station, TX 77845

President Jimmy Carter
Correspondence Office
The Carter Center
453 Freedom Parkway
Atlanta, GA 30307 


United States Senators – NC 

Senator Richard Burr

2000 West First Street

Winston-Salem, NC 27104


Senator Thom Tillis

9300 Harris Corners Parkway, Suite 170

Charlotte, NC 28269

US House of Representatives – NC 

District 2

(Wake [minus Raleigh], Franklin, Nash, parts of
Wilson, Johnston & Harnet counties)


Congressman George Holding
3725 National Drive, Suite 101

Raleigh, NC 27612

District 1

(Durham, Granville, Henderson, Warren, Halifax,
Northampton, Edgecombe & more counties to the east)


Congressman G. K. Butterfield

411 West Chapel Hill Street, Suite 905

Durham, NC 27701


District 4

(Raleigh, southern Durham,
and Orange counties)

Congressman David E. Price

436 North Harrington Road, Suite 100

Raleigh, NC 27603



Governor of North Carolina

Governor Roy Cooper

Office of the Governor

20301 Mail Service Center

Raleigh, NC 27699-0301

requesting a letter from the President of the United States, you can also
fill out a request online. 

NC General Assembly – House Districts 

District 35 – Wake Forest, Rolesville


Representative Chris Malone

PO Box 967

Wake Forest, NC, 27588 

District 25 – Youngsville


Representative Jeff Collins

1109 Culpepper Drive

Rocky Mount, NC 27803

District 40 – Stony Hill, Bay Leaf, Leesville


Representative Joe John

11800 Black Horse Run

Raleigh, NC 27613

District 2 – Creedmoor


Representative Larry Yarborough

87 Duck Pointe Drive

Roxboro, NC 27574 

District 7 – Franklinton


Representative Bobbie Richardson

7309 NC Hwy 561

Louisburg, NC 27549 

District 49 – Six Forks area


Representative Cynthia Ball

1428 Canterbury Road

Raleigh, NC 27608

District 34 – Raleigh


Representative Crier Martin

16 West Jones Street, Room 1023

Raleigh, NC 27601-1096 


NC General Assembly – Senate Districts

District 18 – Wake Forest, Rollesvile, Youngsville, Franklinton, Louisburg

Senator John M. Alexander, Jr.

300 North Salisbury Street, Room 625

Raleigh, NC 27603-5925

District 15 – Stony Hill, Wake Forest, Six Forks


Senator Jay J. Chaudhuri

PO Box 1007

Raleigh, NC 27602

District 16 – Raleigh, Cary, Morrisville


Senator Wiley Nickel

16 West Jones Street, Rm. 1121

Raleigh, NC 27601

District 14 – Raleigh, Knightdale, Garner


Senator Dan Blue

PO Box 1730

Raleigh, NC 27602

District 17 – Apex, Holly Springs

Senator Sam Searcy

16 West Jones Street, Rm. 1121

Raleigh, NC 27601 


National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) 

NASA no longer fulfills requests for congratulatory letters to Eagle Scouts; however, they do have a certificate you can download and customize with your Scout’s personal information for you to print at home.

© 2023 Troop 511 - Boy Scouts of America | WordPress Admin